News > Canada-Japan Society elects 2016-17 Officers and Board of Directors

Canada-Japan Society elects 2016-17 Officers and Board of Directors

posted on 9:37 AM, July 26, 2016
The 56th Annual General Meeting of The Canada-Japan Society of British Columbia was held in Vancouver on Wednesday, July 20th at the Listel Hotel on Robson Street.
Officers and Executive members were elected as follows:


Asako Okai
Japanese Consul-General


Steven J. Archer
Avcorp Industries Inc.


John W. Tak


Anthony P. McArthur
DLA Piper (Canada) LLP


A. John Ellis


Russell T. Mark CPA CA
RM Catalysts Ltd.


All of the foregoing Society Officers plus the following ex-officio committee members
(representing the noted affiliated organizations)

Angela Hollinger, CJSBC Executive Director
William McMichael, CJSBC Events Chair 
Robert T. Banno (National Nikkei Museum and Heritage Society)
Rochelle Bacigalupo (Global Affairs Canada)
Paul Irwin (BC Ministry of International Trade)
Edward Takayanagi (Vancouver Mokuyokai Society)
Vacancy (Japanese Business Association of Vancouver - Konwakai)
Directors of the Society for the year 2016-2017 were elected as follows:

Steven J. Archer A B, Avcorp Industries Inc. 

Rochelle BacigalupoA, Foreign Affairs Trade and Development

Robert T. Banno A, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP

Donald W. Campbell, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP

David Edgington, UBC Institute of Japanese Research

A. John Ellis A B C D E

Maurice Fellis D E

Nathan Ganapathi, Ganapathi and Company

Bill Gruenthal, KRG Insurance Brokers (Western) Inc.

Colin Hansen, Advantage BC International Business Centre

Arthur S. Hara

Mitsuo Hayashi, Nikkei National Museum & Cultural Centre

Angela Hollinger A, CE Energy Development Corporation

Paul Irwin A, BC Ministry of International Trade

Kaz Kadono, Listel Canada Ltd.

Kazuko Komatsu, Pacific Western Brewing Co.

James LemoineBull, Housser & Tupper LLP

Maria Lu, Air Canada

Russell T. Mark A B D, RM Catalysts Ltd.

Anthony P. McArthur A, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP

William McMichael A, Pacific Community Resource Services

Jerry Miyauchi, Japan Airlines

John S. Montgomery, J. Montgomery & Associates Ltd.

Asako Okai A  B  E  F, Japanese Consul-General

Brian Pendleton

Toru Sano, Mitsui & Co. (Canada) Ltd.

Richard Sawchuck, BC Ministry of International Trade

Jason Scharfe, Marsh Canada Limited

John W. Tak B

Edward Takayanagi, Vancouver Mokuyokai Society

Leslie Teramoto, BC Ministry of International Trade

David Wallace, D. H. Wallace & Associates Ltd.

Hiroshi Yamamoto, Colliers International

Matthew Yoshitake, Cascadia Ecohomes Ltd.

 AMember of Executive Committee    B Officer    C Honorary Vice President   
 D Past President   E Honorary Member    F Honorary Chairman

The Canada-Japan Society of British Columbia (CJSBC) is Canada’s longest standing Asian bilateral business association, with origins dating back to 1928.  The goals of the Canada-Japan Society of British Columbia are: "To encourage and to increase the opportunities in British Columbia for the extension of friendship and understanding between the people of Canada and the people of Japan."   The Society also aims to increase business and cultural relations between Canada and Japan in British Columbia, with a series of focused networking opportunities throughout the year.

About the Society l Membership l News l Member Links
Event Calendar l Affiliations l 日本語 l Members Only