News > Canada-Japan Society Elects Officers and Board for 2010 – 2011 at 50th Annual General Meeting

Canada-Japan Society Elects Officers and Board for 2010 – 2011 at 50th Annual General Meeting

posted on 8:02 AM, June 14, 2010

Vancouver, Friday, June 11, 2010. 

The Canada-Japan Society of British Columbia today elected its officers and board of directors for the 2010 – 2011 term.  At the 50th Annual General Meeting of the Society, Steven J. Archer (Avcorp Industries Inc.) was elected president; he had been serving the Society as a vice president since 1999.   Re-elected to the executive were vice presidents James LeMoine (Bull, Houser & Tupper) and Hiroshi Yamamoto (Colliers International).  New to the executive is vice president John W. Tak, (Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association).  Russell Mark (RM Catalysts) is the immediate past president.  Consul General for Japan, Hideki Ito, is the Honorary Chairman of the Society and John Ellis (President of the Society in 1968-69) is the Honorary Vice President.  Ex officio vice presidents representing government and other Canada-Japan organizations include Robert Banno (National Nikkei Museum and Heritage Society), Christian Hansen (Government of Canada), Paul Irwin (Province of British Columbia), Hiroyuki Matsuoka and Takuji Senda (Japanese Business Association of Vancouver – Konwakai), and Erika Thomas (Vancouver Mokuyokai Society).

Newly elected to the Board of Directors are Masaru Oda (Mitsubishi Canada Limited), Kyo Oshima, (Daishowa-Marubeni International Ltd.), Leslie Wada, (BC Ministry of Small Business, Technology and Economic Development).  Re-elected to the Board of Directors were William L. Andrew (RBC Dominion Securities), Donald W, Campbell (Davis LLP), Laureen Davies (Air Canada), David Edgington (UBC Institute of Japanese Research), Robert A. Fairweather, Nathan Ganapathi (Ganapathi and Company), Bill Gruenthal (KRG Insurance Brokers), Frank Hanano (F Y Hanano Law Office), Arthur Hara (Asia Pacific Trade Council), Mitsuo Hayashi (National Nikkei Museum and Heritage Centre Society), Kazuko Komatsu (Pacific Western Brewing),  Takashi Kuriyama (Sumitomo Metal Mining America), John S. Montgomery, Angela Nakamura-Hollinger (CeCan Business Development), Brian Pendleton (Langara College), Jason Scharfe (Marsh Canada), Takamasa Shinohara (Japan Airlines), Larry Sproul (UBC Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies) , Deryl Sturdevant (Canadian Autoparts Toyota Inc.) ,David Wallace (D.H. Wallace & Associates), Tomomi Yamamoto (Marubeni Canada) and Matthew Yoshitake (Cascadia Eco Homes).  Past presidents Robert Fairweather, Maurice Fellis (Westward Shipping), Jack McKeown, and Ed A. Odishaw (Austpro Energy Corporation), round out the Board for 2010-2011.

About the Society l Membership l News l Member Links
Event Calendar l Affiliations l 日本語 l Members Only