News > Canada-Japan Society of BC concludes 51st Annual General Meeting

Canada-Japan Society of BC concludes 51st Annual General Meeting

posted on 7:11 PM, July 22, 2011
July 22, 2011 Vancouver, B.C. The Canada-Japan Society of British Columbia held it's 51st Annual General Meeting today and elected Directors and Officers for 2011-2012.

Elected were:
Honorary Chair - Hideki Ito, Japanese Consul General
President - Steven J. Archer, Avcorp Industries Inc.
Vice President - James (Jay) Lemoine, Bull Housser & Tupper LLP 
Vice President - John W. Tak, Tak & Associates
Honorary Vice President - A. John Ellis
Secretary - James (Jay) Lemoine
Immediate Past President & Treasurer - Russell T Mark CA, RM Catalysts Ltd.

The 2011-2012 Executive Committee is comprised of all of the foregoing Society Officers plus the following ex-officio committee members (representing the noted affiliated organizations): 
Angela Hollinger - CJSBC Executive Director
Robert T. Banno (National Nikkei Museum Society and Heritage Centre)
Shigeru Goto (Japanese Business Association of Vancouver (Konwakai))
Christian Hansen (Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada)
Paul Irwin (BC Ministry of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation)
Yusuke Okano (Japanese Business Association of Vancouver (Konwakai))
Erika Thomas (Vancouver Mokuyokai Society)

The 2011-2012 Directors are:

William L Andrew
Steven J. Archer, Avcorp Industries Inc.
Robert T. Banno, Davis LLP
Donald W. Campbell, Davis LLP
Tracy Campbell, Vancouver Board of Trade
Laureen Davies, Air Canada
A. John Ellis
David Edgington, UBC Institute of Japanese Research
Maurice Fellis
Nathan Ganapathi, Ganapathi and Company
Bill Gruenthal, KRG Insurance Brokers (Western) Inc.
Shigeru Goto, Canadian Autoparts Toyota, Inc.
Frank Y. Hanano, F.Y. Hanano Law Office
Christian Hansen, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Arthur S. Hara
Mitsuyo Hayashi, National Nikkei Museum and Heritage Society
Angela Hollinger, CeCan Business Development
Paul Irwin, BC Ministry of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation
Hideki Ito, Japanese Consul General
Kazuko Komatsu, Pacific Western Brewing
James (Jay) Lemoine, Bull Houser & Tupper LLP
Russell T. Mark, RM Catalysts Ltd.
William McMichael, UBC Faculty of Education
John S. Montgomery, J. Montgomery & Associates Ltd.
Nobuyuki Naito, Mitsui & Co. (Canada) Ltd.
Masaru Oda, Mitsubishi Canada Limited
Yusuke Okano, JETRO Vancouver
Kyo Oshima, Daishowa-Marubeni International Ltd.
Brian Pendleton, Asian Studies, Langara College
Jason Scharfe, Marsh Canada Limited
Takamasa Shinohara, Japan Airlines
Larry Sproul, UBC Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies
Deryl Sturdevant, Canadian Autoparts Toyota Inc.
John W. Tak, Tak & Associates
Erika Thomas, Mitsubishi Canada Ltd.
Leslie Wada, BC Ministry of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation
David Wallace, D. H. Wallace & Associates Ltd.
Hiroshi Yamamoto, Colliers International
Tomomi Yamamoto, Marubeni Canada Ltd.
Matthew Yoshitake, Cascadia Eco Homes

The Society is the oldest Asian bilateral association in Canada.  It's goals are to encourage and to increase the opportunities in British Columbia for the extension of friendship and understanding between the people of Canada and the people of Japan.
About the Society l Membership l News l Member Links
Event Calendar l Affiliations l 日本語 l Members Only