News > Society Director Hara honoured with The Order of British Columbia

Society Director Hara honoured with The Order of British Columbia

posted on 8:40 AM, August 7, 2013
A July 31, 2013 announcement confirmed that thirteen British Columbians have been appointed to the Order of British Columbia. Among them is Canada-Japan Society of B.C. member and Director Arthur S. Hara, O.C., LL.C., O.R.S. of Vancouver - "Asia-Pacific businessman and economic leader".
Lt.-Gov. Judith Guichon, Chancellor of the Order, honoured those who have contributed to the province as follows:

“The Order of British Columbia is the province’s most prestigious accolade and is an official part of the Canadian Honours System,” said Guichon. “It is an opportunity to publicly recognize those who have dedicated themselves to bettering the lives of their fellow citizens. These recipients exemplify the positive difference one person can make in a community and are an inspiration to all British Columbians.”

“The Order of British Columbia recognizes remarkable accomplishments by extraordinary British Columbians,” said Premier Christy Clark. “This year’s recipients have each made a difference in their communities and to the province. On behalf of all British Columbians, I want to thank them for their dedication - and all they do to make B.C. better.”

This year’s recipients are:

Peter S. Anderson, M.A. of Burnaby - emergency communications and disaster warning expert
Dr. Finley Armanious of Vernon - intensive care physician and hospital fundraiser
Larry Berg of Richmond - Vancouver International Airport leader and visionary
Sergio Cocchia of West Vancouver - entrepreneur and philanthropist supporting children’s charities
Donna Crocker of Langley - fundraiser and advocate for homeless people
Gregory Fahlman, Ph.D. of Victoria - world renowned astronomy researcher
Dr. Paula Gordon of Vancouver - innovative breast cancer screening researcher
Wendy Grant-John of Vancouver - First Nations economic and community leader
Arthur S. Hara, O.C., LL.C., O.R.S. of Vancouver - Asia-Pacific businessman and economic leader
Robert Ho of West Vancouver - philanthropist supporting health care and universities
George W. Hungerford, O.C., Q.C. of Vancouver - philanthropist in sport, health care and education
Charles J. Jago, Ph.D. of Prince George - leader in education, economic development and the arts
Dr. Charles H. Scudamore of Vancouver - cancer researcher, transplant surgeon and teacher

Recipients of the Order of British Columbia have been selected by an independent advisory committee from public nominations. The 2013 advisory committee consists of:

The Honourable Lance S.G. Finch (chair), former chief justice of British Columbia
Bill Barisoff, former speaker of the Legislative Assembly
Dr. Kris Bulcroft, president, Capilano University
Pierrette Maranda, associate deputy minister, Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat
Her Worship Mary Sjorstrom, president, Union of British Columbia Municipalities
Hassan Khosrowshahi, O.B.C. (2012 recipient of the Order)
Norman Keevil, O.B.C. (2012 recipient of the Order).

The Order of British Columbia investiture ceremony will be held for recipients and invited guests at Government House in Victoria sometime this fall. Since the order was first introduced in 1989, 345 people have become members.
For more information please visit .
Arthur Hara has led a distinguished career in business, devoting himself to building trade and fostering better understanding between British Columbia and the nations in the Asia Pacific. Born in Vancouver in 1927, for 37 years he worked for Mitsubishi Canada, being named the first Canadian Chairman of the Corporation in 1983. Under his leadership, Mitsubishi developed B.C.’s natural resources including coalfields in southeastern B.C., which then led to building of the deep-sea coal port at Roberts Bank. In 1999 he was named one of the 50 “British Columbia’s Business Leaders of the Century”. After retiring in 1999, Mr. Hara continued to be very active in the business community. He served as Chairman of the Asia Pacific Foundation, Chairman of the University of BC’s Board of Governors, Chairman of the Vancouver Board of Trade, Director of the Canada-Japan Society of BC and Division Chairman of the 1998 United Way Campaign. He has provided leadership in areas that have created a more prosperous and more culturally aware society. From 2005 to 2008 he assumed the voluntary Chair of the Asia Pacific Trade Council with the mandate of enhancing B.C.’s presence in the Asia Pacific countries of Japan, South Korea, China and India. Mr. Hara has received international recognition and awards including Officer of the Order of Canada, Canada Confederation Medal, Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals, Order of the Rising Sun (Japan), Distinguished Leadership Award from Simon Fraser University and an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of British Columbia.
About the Society l Membership l News l Member Links
Event Calendar l Affiliations l 日本語 l Members Only